Student Recommendations

This year I am promoting “Reading Is Social”.  We read, we share, we talk about books.  Our third, fourth, and fifth graders are using Biblionasium to write reviews, keep track of books they want to read, and recommend books to each other.  They are excited about using Biblionasium, and I will continue to offer opportunities for them to use it in library as well as promote its use to their teachers.

Something new I am trying this year is student recommendations.  I asked two students to create a small display of books they would recommend to friends and teachers to read.  I took a picture of the books so that when the books get checked out, others can still see what the students suggested.  I also took a picture of the student reading one of their favorites in the rocking chair.  Both of these pictures were put on a small sign and placed next to their books.  I then started mentioning to the classes about the students’ displays.  Other students wanted to see right away what books were on the display!  I will continue to ask students throughout the year to recommend books and create displays.

I also have a display of some books I recommended and will be asking teachers to create displays as well!

Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 5.07.08 PM

IMG_1304

IMG_1310

IMG_1311

Screen Shot 2015-09-20 at 5.06.58 PM

IMG_1306

Leave a Reply

