Summer Reading Wraps Up

Our school participated in Scholastic’s 2015 Summer Reading Challenge.  This was our fifth year participating.  It is always fun to see how many minutes students report over the summer.  Our school read 76,322 minutes!  Quite an accomplishment for a population of 300 students grades K-5!  I suspect, however, there are more minutes read than are logged, and here’s why.

First, some students don’t have access to a computer to log their minutes.  That can be a problem.  This past summer, I encouraged students to keep track on a reading log to turn in when school started.  I got some reading logs back this month, so I know that can work!  Second, some students don’t like to keep track of their minutes.  I can relate.  When I go into “reading mode”, the last thing I want to do is remember what time I started and stopped reading, or worse, set a timer to read for a certain number of minutes.  What happens if I get to a good part and don’t want to stop?  Do I need to reset the timer?  Lose track of those minutes?  Third, some students just forget (or their parents do) and that’s ok, too.  We all have busy lives.  What really matters is that the students are reading, and that is what I want to happen over the summer.

While I enjoy participating in the Scholastic’s Challenge, next summer I will be looking for ways to make it easier (or perhaps more difficult to forget?) for students to share their summer reading with our school.  Perhaps we will continue to join Scholastic’s Challenge– they do a wonderful job.  We could pair it with paper reading logs for those that don’t log minute online.  Perhaps we will venture into Biblionasium to keep track of minutes logged- this is another great website that helps kids “flex the reading muscles”  However it rolls out next summer, I know that I will still be encouraging our students to read, read, read over the summer.  If you have ideas that you would like to share, add them to the comments below!

Summer Reading Certificate

Summer Reading Certificate

Leave a Reply

