The First Day Back With Students- Hooray!

Today was the first day with students, and I have to say, I enjoy spending the day with students far more than attending a conference day.  Maybe it’s because I like to talk, and I get to do that a lot the first week of school.  Someone has to tell the students the rules, procedures, expectations, and then share some cool new books (yippee)!  And it lasts the first five days because I only see students once a week, so, I do feel redundant after a day!  So much so that I am considering not doing the usual presentation for fifth grade and diving right into setting up Edmodo (after talking about some new books, of course!).  But in reality, I think I enjoy the first day/week so much because  I like seeing the students get excited about checking out books!  Everyone checks out the first week because no one has forgotten to return books yet!  It’s the best start to the new year.  We added 185 new books over the summer, and students are able to see all the titles in our catalog by checking out the resource list titled New Books August 2014.  It would be so much more fun to talk about all 185 books, but there is only so much time in class.  Sigh!  So, I showed students the resource list online and they were awed!  Good books aren’t too hard to find!

Just a few of the books that were borrowed on the first day of school!

Just a few of the books that were borrowed on the first day of school!

Leave a Reply

